Get Shouty


Interactive Planning
May 21, 2007, 4:37 am
Filed under: Digital Strategy

xbox-throwing.jpg

I’m presenting at the  interactive boot camp over the next couple of weeks, the first one on Wednesday,  and have been tasked with giving a bit of a 101: “How to plan great interactive media campaigns”.

My process is this, used to create ‘digital connections’  between consumers and brands:

digital-connections-3.jpg

It’s a continuation of my thoughts on Loveocracy and another post  and some bouncing back and forward with Sean and Gavin.

The centre of the diagram is brought to life with this kind of voice over: 

“digital connections opportunities present themselves when we look for an overlap between the Brand Position and Consumer Interests, what Position unites the two and what Promise can be tactically expressed?  Aiming to be inside this area makes great sense.  It’s the point at which all the vectors unite”

I surround this with robust research (insights), consumer experience design (context) and evaluation modelling (building actionable intelligence) processes.

I’d love to hear your thoughts and get your examples on great interactive media planning.

After I’ve finished the bootcamp I’ll compile it all together and post the presentation for all to share.


25 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What happened? Scare everybody off?

Comment by Gavin Heaton

Love this!!!

One of the notes I had on my last version of the model was the lack of insight…

Gah. I already posted today. You are SO tomorrows post. Stealing the model, btw. 😉

Hey. Would LOVE to hear more about how you go about “building actionable intelligence”.

Comment by Sean Howard

The model has an eery resemblance to the “triality” mentioned by some commentators on Taoism: yin, yang, and the Void. And it has the same significance, depending on your degree of enlightenment: everything, or nothing. For a Taoist, this is a perfect situation. For a brand manager, probably not.

Comment by Bob Jacobson

Gavin: well go on then…

Sean: that actionable intelligence is a doozy isn’t it. To taunt you with some more it’s balance between Digital Brand Insurance (buy the policy now!)and building Single Customer Views. It’s about designing for outputs, not just attention.

Bob: that’s fab- I’ll have to remember that when I’m presenting this next!

Comment by katiechatfield

obviously my take on this may be a little different. I strongly believe in a sense of play and experimentation. I also believe in a sense of pace – or what comedians call timing. I find and found it quite frustrating that 2.0 efforts are regarded within the scope of long term adventures and I have been playing with the idea of short term “episodes” or, if you wish “seasons” that actually end.

While the projects are running I use things like YouTube or twitter to enhance or carry the pace of the story along; and the 12:00hrs tweet from Sacrum saying “I eat soup” was just as important as any of his brand theory and his first YouTube was carefully timed as well. The Dead Artist will end too, and maybe It Could Get Worse will come back again.

This format, seems to be rather effective because it keeps people guessing and wanting more but as I have said before it only really works for me – because I allow it to happen. And I really don’t see that I will earn any money from it and I would question whether it be useful as a business or marketing platform. But there are lessons that can be learned from my “season model” I think. And maybe, one day (and if you ask nicely) I’ll put them into writing.

Hope that was interesting.

Comment by Marcus

If a brand is not “established” say doesn’t have the authority such as Persil/Dove but they have a strong brand position and believe in all other areas, do they have the right to be part of/facilitate/create that community?

Comment by Laura

G’day Marcus: I’m liking the notion of planning anticipation- a ‘scarlet pimpernel’ marketing technique with snack-i-sode delivery.

Laura: I’m not convinced that the brand itself needs authority to create connection with it’s consumers- I think it does need a ‘brand truth’ however. I like to think that the role of a brand in the digital space is to host a party for it’s friends. You don’t need to be given ‘a right’ to throw a great bash, but there certainly are a number of elements that need to be in place before it takes off.

Comment by katiechatfield

GAHHH!!

I had no idea you were SUCH a big tease! 😉

I’ve spent that past 15 minutes contemplating your response and your post. And going back to it now.

Comment by Sean Howard

The Strategy Love-In Continues

Shouts out to Katie, Gavin and Sacrum who together have been keeping this thread on strategic models alive and kicking. My last model was of the infamous lego variety. And it generated some really neat feedback. My purpose in creating it was to define …

Trackback by CrapHammer

Katie, I love your MAP. I would like to know if you would like to add it to the just launched collection of Great Maps on the Internet. I’m still working on a title for the collection.
So far I have received a few contributions, most notable is the map from Drew McLellan, which he calls “A brand love affair in the round” even though there is nothing round on it. 🙂

Comment by Roger Anderson

[…] Marcus’ new blog, the new Ford site and  “short term episodes” […]

Pingback by Get Shouty

I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this
site. I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get
my own website now 😉

Comment by hydro colon therapy

Hi there, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this blog
post. It was helpful. Keep on posting!

Comment by Jeffrey

I do not leave a lot of responses, however after browsing
some of the comments on this page Interactive Planning | Get Shouty.

I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s okay.
Is it only me or do a few of the remarks come across
like they are written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if
you are posting on additional places, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to post.
Would you post a list of the complete urls of your social networking sites like
your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

Comment by how to detox your body

I drop a leave a response each time I like a article on a blog or if
I have something to add to the discussion. Usually it’s caused by the
fire displayed in the article I read. And after this post Interactive Planning | Get Shouty.
I was excited enough to create a thought 🙂 I do have a couple of questions for you if you don’t
mind. Could it be just me or does it appear like
some of the remarks appear as if they are written by brain dead visitors?
😛 And, if you are posting at other online sites, I’d like to keep up with you.

Would you make a list all of all your shared pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed,
or linkedin profile?

Comment by girl activation System review

I blog quite often and I seriously appreciate your information. The article
has really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your website and keep checking
for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed as well.

Comment by need to lose 10 lbs fast

Good post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more
on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more.

Kudos!

Comment by http://www.eudat.eu

For the reason that the admin of this website is working, no hesitation very quickly it will be renowned, due
to its feature contents.

Comment by weight loss tumblr

Wonderful blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any community forums that cover the
same topics discussed here? I’d really like to
be a part of group where I can get advice from other experienced individuals that share
the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know.

Thanks a lot!

Comment by www.economika.de

I was recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by
him as nobody else know such detailed about my problem.
You are wonderful! Thanks!

Comment by inspiratory muscle training device

I savour, lead to I discovered just what I used to be having a look
for. You have ended my 4 day long hunt! God Bless you man.
Have a nice day. Bye

Comment by how to lose 10 pounds in 7 days fast

Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse
your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
I enjoy the information you present here and can’t wait to take a
look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded
on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..

Anyways, excellent site!

Comment by epistemological Approach

Very shortly this web site will be famous amid all blog visitors, due to
it’s nice content

Comment by apple cider vinegar-weight loss

I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites
really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come
back later. Many thanks

Comment by https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.wellki.diettipsandfitnessgoals

You need to take part in a contest for one of the finest
websites on the web. I most certainly will recommend this
site!

Comment by Health App




Leave a comment