Get Shouty


curioser and curioser
March 18, 2010, 6:00 pm
Filed under: Digital Strategy, Experience

So many thinkering Sydney events this week. It’s always great to get away from behind your desk and fill up the inspiration tanks a little.

While I usually broadcast my experiences of these things while I’m out and about, I’m starting to become very much aligned with Tim Burrows thinking outlined in Why I’m over live blogging (and I’m not sure about live tweeting either) as I believe it reduces your ability to absorb what’s actually going on in the room, or as Tim puts it:

Often, the temptation to be first, or even instantaneous, is at the expense of proper thought…often,  I don’t think the process does anyone much justice.

I attended some Adtech keynotes and Breakfast sessions as well as a new event put on by the APG this week. My focus was not only to get information and inspiration, I was trying to see the value of ‘being in the room’. Seeing people do their stuff and chatting in between sessions is a great way to get a sense check of the barometer of the industry and the strength of your personal network.

With so much digital content and opinion being generated swirling around the live moment and the speaker I think that, if you can’t be present yourself, you need to have a rock in the audience. Someone you know, someone you trust, someone who can make you think and put their own ego aside to contextualize what’s going on.

So I’ll let some of my rocks,  people who I really respect and admire,  to give their opinion and outtakes:

From Ad:tech- which focuses on all aspects of digital marketing and advertising

Mark Pollard’s experience

From the Battle of the Big Thinking- put together by the Australian Planning Group, fifteen people speak for fifteen minutes each in five topics. You can see the whole list here.


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] From Sauerman’s YouTube channel (hat-tip: Katie Chatfield) […]

Pingback by Battle of Big Thinking part 3: Marketing is arse; Fighting mediocrity; action-based advertising - mUmBRELLA

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by katiechatfield: so many thinkering events in Sydney this week http://bit.ly/cAdlMA do you need to go- or watch the ripples?…perhaps you just need a rock…

Trackback by uberVU - social comments




Leave a comment