Get Shouty


The Cult of Done Manifesto
May 20, 2009, 12:18 am
Filed under: Great Stuff

cult of done

  1. There are three states of being. Not knowing, action and completion.
  2. Accept that everything is a draft. It helps to get it done.
  3. There is no editing stage.
  4. Pretending you know what you’re doing is almost the same as knowing what you are doing, so just accept that you know what you’re doing even if you don’t and do it.
  5. Banish procrastination. If you wait more than a week to get an idea done, abandon it.
  6. The point of being done is not to finish but to get other things done.
  7. Once you’re done you can throw it away.
  8. Laugh at perfection. It’s boring and keeps you from being done.
  9. People without dirty hands are wrong. Doing something makes you right.
  10. Failure counts as done. So do mistakes.
  11. Destruction is a variant of done.
  12. If you have an idea and publish it on the internet, that counts as a ghost of done.
  13. Done is the engine of more.

Bre Pettis in collaboration with Kio Stark written in 20 minutes because they only had 20 minutes to get it done.


9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I dunno. I feel some of these, but at the same time, I LOVE editing. I love what comes to me when I let something stew for a long time. I like thinking about things over several days, several showers, several runs, several lonely moments at the subway stop.

But that’s just me.

Nice find, though. Definitely a thought-starter.

Comment by Clay Parker Jones

I love editing too, but I think, perhaps, that’s part of the active phase.

I wonder if the guys were talking about self editing…you know playing internal Tetris with your ideas before you get them out, get them down and so they’re never made real.

I came across a concept a while ago at a yoga retreat: “Your problems are never resolved by thinking.” I fight against it all the time- but I know that only by doing stuff I change my situation, can solve the problem and we can save the world.

Comment by katiechatfield

Disagree with a lot of this.

Anyone can have an idea.

However having that idea is often the easy part.

It takes enormous dedication, passion, persistence and flexibility to make that idea a reality.

Ultimately, what I’m saying, is that the idea is only the beginning – Not the end.

Comment by Stan Lee

@Stan
I don’t think this manifesto is about ideas at all- it’s about getting things done. I’m not sure what you’re disagreeing with…in fact I think you both saying the same thing

Comment by katiechatfield

Speaking of getting things done …

Comment by Gavin Heaton

“Gosh”, I type as I get busy with it!

Comment by Kelly

[…] (Thank you, Katie Chatfield!) […]

Pingback by Scarlet Words » Blog Archive » Note to self: Join the “Cult of Done”

❤. Srsly.

Done!

Comment by David Gillespie

[…] creativity, music, philosophy. Tags: business, Katie Chatfield, Nike trackback While looking at Katie Chatfield’s blog last night and thinking about the various ways I’d like to be like her when I grow up […]

Pingback by We off that « Creative Is Not A Department




Leave a Reply

