Get Shouty


Information R/evolution
October 26, 2007, 1:20 am
Filed under: Digital Strategy

Michael Wesch and the KSU digital ethnography crew also posted this video on the same day as “A Vision of Students Today.”

According to the Information R/evolution post description: This video explores the changes in the way we find, store, create, critique, and share information. It was created as a conversation starter, and works especially well when brainstorming with people about the near future and the skills needed in order to harness, evaluate, and create information effectively.

 As for  a summery of the ‘Students Today’ post: 200 Students made 367 edits to the document, and surveyed themselves, to bring you the following message:

  • My average class size is 115. 18% of my teachers know my name. I complete 49% of the readings assigned to me.

  • I buy hundred dollar textbooks that I never open.

  • I will read 8 books this year, 2300 web pages, and 1281 facebook profiles. I will write 42 pages for class this semester,  and over 500 pages of email

  • I get 7 hours of sleep each night, 1 ½ hours watching TV each night, 3 ½ hours a day online, I listen to music 2.5 hours a day, I spend 2 hours on my cellphone, 3 hours in class, 2 hours eating. I work 3 hours every day, 3 hours studying. That’s a total of 26.5 hours.

  • I’m a multitasker. I have to be.

  • I will be over $20,000 in debt after graduation. I’m one of the lucky ones.

  • Over 1 billion people make less than one dollar a day. This laptop costs more than some people in the world make in a year.

  • When I graduate I will probably have a job that doesn’t exist today.

 


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

