Get Shouty


Happy 1st Birthday to me
March 14, 2007, 8:46 am
Filed under: Get Friendly, Zeitgeist

It’s a year since I started posting to Get Shouty. As it’s been such an adventure in the Hundred Acre Wood I thought I might let Pooh and Piglet have the microphone (through Benjamin Hoff) to help me describe it:

1 Blogging makes me hungry for my day:

“When you wake up in the morning, Pooh,” said Piglet at last, “what’s the first thing you say to yourself?”
“What’s for breakfast? said Pooh. “What do you say, Piglet?”
“I say, I wonder what’s going to happen exciting today?” said Piglet.
Pooh nodded thoughtfully.
“It’s the same thing,” he said

2 Blogging allows me to listen:

“Lots of people talk to animals,” said Pooh.
“Not that many listen though.”
“That’s the problem.”

3 Blogging helps me simplify:

“Rabbit’s clever,” said Pooh thoughtfully.
“Yes,”said Piglet, “Rabbit’s clever.”
“And he has Brain.”
“Yes,” said Piglet, “Rabbit has Brain.”
There was a long silence.
“I suppose,” said Pooh, “that that’s why he never understands anything.”

4 Blogging lets me know that there is no one right way right way, there is only conversation:

“While Eeyore frets …
… and Piglet hesitates
… and Rabbit calculates
… and Owl pontificates
…Pooh just is.”

The Hundred Acre Wood grows for me every day- it’s my thinking spot and helps me demystify Heffalumps and Woozles. Thank you to: Gavin, CK, Paul, Mack, Sean, Emily (and all the Sydney coffee crew), Terry, Russell, Richard, Clay, Luc, Nina, C.B., Marcus, Mike, Cam, Lebowski and everyone who has visited, commented, inspired, provoked, delighted, informed, prompted, educated……and made Get Shouty what it is.

How can you get very far, If you don’t know Who You Are?
How can you do what you ought, If you don’t know What You’ve Got?
And if you don’t know Which To Do Of all the things in front of you,
Then what you’ll have when you are through
Is just a mess without a clue
Of all the best that can come true
If you know What and Which and Who.


12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy Birthday to you and Get Shouty! What a fun way to mark the occasion. And, next time you are in NYC, perhaps I can meet up with you and CK for some live blogging!

Comment by C. B. Whittemore

Happy Birthday and all the best.
Tigger.

Comment by Marcus Brown

Happy Birthday to you Shouty Lady! We’re supposed to give YOU presents, and here you’ve been giving us gifts for the past year. Pooh would be pleased!

Comment by Mack Collier

Congrats!!! And happy birthday!

Eat some nettles for me!

Eye-ore.

Comment by Sean Howard

Happy one-year birthday! It was nice to revisit the Hundred Acre Wood. Here’s (raises coffee mug) to another year of demystifying Heffalumps and Woozles.

Comment by Nina

Weeehooooo! Happy B-day, Katie!🙂

Comment by Cam Beck

Happy Birthday, ms. Shouty! I can’t believe it’s been a year already!

Comment by Paul McEnany

Oh no! I can’t imagine it! A shouty two-year old? And I thought we were in trouble before!
Happy birthday!

Comment by Gavin Heaton

Oh you guys!
Thanks for the best wishes.
Onwards and upwards for all!

Comment by katiechatfield

Happy Bday Shouty…love what you did with the lessons from Pooh–only the greatest philosopher ever🙂. Thanks for all you’ve given us so generously over the past year. And here’s to MANY more. Love, luck and lots more visits to NYC!

Comment by CK

Although new to your shoutings i can see it has been quite an expotition!

Happy birthday.

Comment by J

[…] Last year I said “The Hundred Acre Wood grows for me every day- it’s my thinking spot and helps me demystify Heffalumps and Woozles”. […]

Pingback by TERRIBLE TWOS « Get Shouty




Leave a Reply

