Get Shouty


We are not alone
October 10, 2006, 7:22 am
Filed under: Zeitgeist

Mother Teresa spoke often about the effects of being lonely and the crushing poverty of spirit that is caused by feelings of being unwanted- so much much so that she called this ‘the leprosy of the West’. A recent international study claimed that more than a third of adults are lonely.

There’s alot of talk that screens are taking over face to face interaction, and that culture is suffering as a result. David Armano’s fantastic post We Are Not Alone. Life 2.0 puts forward the notion that the growing suite of web tools allows us, through creating and connecting, to find out that others like us exist.

There is a now a place where we can find that ‘we are not alone’ and more. Screen life, online life IS ‘real’ life. For many (and there are many- over 450,000 bloggers in Australia alone) our online time informs and inspires our terrestrial activities.

Examples of this range from the fabulous red paper clip story, to the spontaneous walkouts in high schools of over 40,000 students across Califonia organised through individual myspace pages and to the popularity of acts like The Artic Monkeys and OKGo.

These stories, OUR stories, will only grow as we continue to contribute our time and energy to trying to connect with each other.


9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] We are not alone, Brands with benefits, Today’s Top Sorts and Sites, Marketing Idealists […]

Pingback by how long is the truth? | Get Shouty

Marvelous, what a website it is! This blog provides useful facts to us, keep it up.

Comment by Evie

I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic.
I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.
Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this info for my mission.

Comment by see here

Greetings! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
Do you know how to make your site mobile
friendly? My website looks weird when viewing from my iphone4.

I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be
able to resolve this issue. If you have any suggestions, please
share. Cheers!

Comment by Blogwitheddie.com

It’s remarkable designed for me to have a web site, which is useful in support of my know-how.
thanks admin

Comment by Samanthabachman.Com

Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with?
I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must
say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a
fair price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

Comment by http://Landausflug.info/index.php?mod=users&action=view&id=9644

Hey there I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake, while
I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a
tremendous post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love
the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I
have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
will be back to read much more, Please do
keep up the excellent work.

Comment by Sherrie Q. Roussel

I believe everything posted was very reasonable. But, think
about this, suppose you added a little content? I mean,
I don’t want to tell you how to run your website, but what if you added a post title to maybe grab a person’s attention? I mean We are
not alone | Get Shouty is kinda boring. You should peek at Yahoo’s home
page and see how they create article headlines to grab people to open the links.
You might add a video or a picture or two to get readers excited about what you’ve written. Just my opinion, it could bring your posts a little livelier.

Comment by Mimi E. Cumley

We are not alone | Get Shouty

We are not alone | Get Shouty

Trackback by We are not alone | Get Shouty




Leave a Reply

