Get Shouty


How are your tools helping to shape how you understand your world?
September 30, 2011, 10:46 am
Filed under: Experience

Baking is a wonderous thing. I’ve been doing it for more than 30 years (yikes!) It’s both a wonderful way to show off and a deeply satisfying exercise of creating something from not much.

The I’ve learned so much

  • The importance of balance and ratios.
  • The impact of temperature
  • Context. Recipes are designed for specific cake pans, placement in the oven is important, fan forced makes a difference.
  • How lightness is achieved through chemistry
  • How overworking something can start to diminish the result
  • How fragile things are when they’re just cooked

I know how to bake, I don’t need a recipe now (but I love reading them for inspiration) and I can look in a pantry and see a bakery of the potentials.

And as I’m preparing to be chief baker for a weekend away with mates, it’s got me thinking: how do I remember stuff? How do I pull together what I know and what I have to get a treat on the table?

I’ve asked a bunch of people what their process is, and the response has been varied from “I don’t know how I do anything” to the lucky duck who has an eidetic memory.

I’ve written about personal taxonomies, my Bowerbird ways, and general bricolage and pirate treasure pursuits for crafting creative strategy before and now I’m wondering how great the impact is of the things that I do (and not just the things that I see, read and save) that help me create delights.

“We become what we behold. We shape our tools and then our tools shape us.” Marshall McLuhan

I love the video below. How are your tools helping to shape how you understand your world?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Beautiful cupcake video. Many of the bullet points you mentioned re: baking could apply to planning.

Comment by Carol L. Weinfeld

Absolutely- I’m so glad you could see that!

Comment by katiechatfield




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,164 other followers

