Get Shouty


In 2050 what will we be nostalgic about?
April 20, 2010, 7:27 pm
Filed under: Great Stuff

Love this piece created for  Life In 2050 where emerging visual artists from around the world have imagined what the future holds in a contemporary art exhibition created for the 9th SCI-FI-LONDON Film Festival.

For this edition of the festival, we put LIFE IN 2050 under the spotlight. We have put together a series of themed LAB sessions in which to investigate the future of science, society and culture over the next 40 years.

Looking forward to the films created for the 48 hour film challenge and having a listen to the podcasts The Problem of SF film making with directors – Marc Caro (Delicatessen, The City of Lost Children), Cory McAbee (Stingray Sam), Gerald McMorrow (Franklyn), Stuart Hazeldine (Exam) and Richard Jobson (A Woman in Winter).

I’m intrigued by the thought starter for the festival:

In 2050 what will we be nostalgic about?

While one of my favourite pessimists immediately went to ‘seeing my feet’, I wonder if there’s something a little more to be explored in the question. Bruce Sterling talks about ‘future nostalgia’ which is a notion that describes one of the bittersweet experience of living in the 21st century. It’s the the ‘where’s my jet pack?’ view of what we thought our lives would be like now when we were children and how we feel about the dissonance between our imagination and the reality. You can see an outline of his thoughts about the cultural temperament of the coming decade here Where did the future go?

I was watching The Young Ones on ABC2 last night. The episode was Nasty and one of the key phrases in it is: Have we got a video? I got me thinking: mostly when I think about the passage of time, I think about the additions to my life. The additions of technology, the additions of freedom and independence, the additions of access to information. And I’m not sure that those additions will slow down in the next 40 years.

Nostalgia would seem to be perceiving subtraction. I can’t help but think I might have less stuff, but I’m happy to let that go. I can’t help but believe that I might not be able to jump on a plane whenever I like to where ever I want. There will be all the very human thoughts about the passage of time on the body…but what culturally will I miss?

Still thinking. Love to hear your thoughts.

You can see my attempt at an answer here: Fire and forgetting

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Katie Chatfield, Katie Chatfield. Katie Chatfield said: http://katiechatfield.wordpress.com/2010/04/20/in-2050-what-will-we-be-nostalgic-about/ [...]

Pingback by Tweets that mention In 2050 what will we be nostalgic about? « Get Shouty -- Topsy.com

Awesome video… This was really moving and captivating. Here’s to hoping 2050 is just as great!

Comment by Pablo Edwards

Social comments and analytics for this post…

This post was mentioned on Twitter by katiechatfield: In 2050 what will we be nostalgic about? http://bit.ly/ccXva0

Trackback by uberVU - social comments




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,144 other followers

