Get Shouty


Tell me and I’ll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I’ll understand.
February 26, 2010, 3:15 pm
Filed under: Experience

I’m a huge believer that people can process information  more quickly and more deeply when it is presented as a visual narrative. 80% of the brain is dedicated to visual processing….

One of the best examples of this is Gapminder -a data visualization tool used to highlight statistics about our world to promote the UN Millenium Development goals.

Contextualizing abstract data in this manner allows for an increased understanding of the World, possibly leading to insights and more informed decisions.

If you can get people to play with the information and see the impact, you can unlock even greater understanding:

Designers Jochen Winker and Stefan Kuzaj work with the visualization of data, and have been developing innovative models for absorbing complex information. Their latest work (you can see above) features methods for making information interactive, requiring users to engage with devices in order to fully unlock the value of the information at hand.

Some great examples:

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Loved this.

Comment by Jye Smith

SO true. I learned art history buy taping a timeline of notecards in order on all wall of my apartment. I’m talking about… art created until present day. I made all As. This post is spot on. Thanks!

Comment by dogingham

I meant by not buy :)

Comment by dogingham

Such an important lesson. You don’t teach someone how to paint a house by letting him sit in the bed of a pickup truck, you put the brush in his hand and tell him to paint next you. This is a wise post!

Comment by Promotional Products

Nice post!

Comment by Debbie

[...] : statistiques, mesures métriques, ondes… Il paraitrait que cette activité convoque 80% des ressources de notre [...]

Pingback by La data visualization : nouvel eldorado des éditeurs? « Notre lien quotidien

[...] Tell me and I will forget… [...]

Pingback by How can the Social Media Experts help Education — Eduwebmedia

Great information. Lucky me I found your site by accident, I bookmarked it.

Comment by EverydayShare

http://www.informationisbeautiful.net
I really like this site, seems like you might too.

Comment by Cath




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,146 other followers

