Get Shouty


Voyeurism
March 30, 2007, 2:17 am
Filed under: Zeitgeist

this-is-wrong2.jpg
I’m always interested to find out the pathways that people have used to find my site.

Today I met a new member of the Sydney coffee morning blogger crew who had read my site before meeting me. She said that it felt a little voyeuristic. All very interesting stuff.

Interesting and voyeuristic is one of the search terms that continually pops up as an indicator of what people are looking for in Google before they land on Get Shouty. I’ve checked and I’m the third or fourth listing for this search term (ew!)….and it just doesn’t seem to be going away.

The reference point is this post about being featured on the Z-list, and it’s a reference to the line in Sally Field’s Oscar acceptance speech: You like me, you really like me. Innocently enough in that post was a reference to one of my biggest referrers at the time- a  naughty cowgirl site.

I’m sure we all have these strange anomalies. Gavin? I’m sure you get them! Sean? How about you? I’m sure fabulous 1st birthday blogger Mack has some interesting ones too.

 And the rest of you- what’s the weirdest way you’ve drawn in a new reader?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yeah I get consistent referrals from idonothingallday.com. Wierd. People look at this stuff? Yeah … guess they do.

Comment by Gavin Heaton

Some of the interesting Google search terms that have drawn traffic to TVG within the last 100 visitors:

garden snakes
how to build a boat out of legos
trip tennis games
good reasons to stop drinking
where to but webkinz

Then again, I had 2 hits on the term ‘define community’, so you take the good with bad ;)

Comment by Mack Collier

Gav- you are well known for just sitting around eating orange flavoured chocolate, so it al amkes sense really.

Thanks for your list Mack-tastic.
I love the idea of building a boat out of legos so much more than a naked flying nun.

Comment by katiechatfield




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,146 other followers

